Peking University(北京大学:Běijīng Dàxué ) is a comprehensive and national key university. The campus, known as "Yan Yuan"(the garden of Yan)(燕园:Yànyuán), is situated at Haidian District(海淀区:Hǎidiàn qū) in the western suburb of Beijing, with a total area of 2,743,532 square metres (or 274 hectares). It stands near to the Yuanmingyuan Garden(圆明园:Yuánmínɡyuán) and the Summer Palace(颐和园:Yíhéyuán).Peking University, commonly known in Chinese as "Beida"(北大:Běidà), was established in 1898, and is one of the oldest universities in China. Peking University was originally named as the Imperial University of Beijing. It was the first national comprehensive university in China, as well as the supreme administrative organ for education in China at that time. The establishment of this university marked the beginning of China's modern history of higher education. It was in 1912, after the Revolution of 1911, that the university came to adopt its present name. At the end of last century, Peking University was placed, by the Chinese government, on the top of the agenda for promoting higher education, with a view to make it a world-class university in the 21st century.

The University consists of 30 colleges and 12 departments, with 93 specialties for undergraduates, 199 specialties for Master candidates and 173 specialties for Doctoral candidates. While still laying stress on basic sciences, the university has paid special attention to the development of applied sciences. At present, Peking University has 216 research institutes and research centres, and there are 2 national engineering research centres, 81 key national disciplines, 12 national key laboratories.