Zhejiang University(浙江大学:zhèjiānɡ Dàxué) is a comprehensive national university. Founded in 1897, Zhejiang University was initially known as “Qiushi Shuyuan” (Qiushi Academy)(求是书院:Qiúshì Shūyuàn), one of the earliest modern academies of higher learning established in China. In 1952, because of the nationwide restructuring of universities, Zhejiang University underwent a reshuffling of disciplines and some departments merged into other universities.
In September 1998, a new Zhejiang University was established on the basis of the amalgamation of the four former individual universities, namely Zhejiang University, Hangzhou University(杭州大学:hánɡzhōu dàxué)  ,Zhejiang Agricultural University(浙江农业大学:Zhè jiānɡ Nónɡyè Dà xué) and Zhejiang Medical University(浙江医科大学:Zhèjiānɡ Yīkē Dàxué) , which were all located in the garden city of Hangzhou. Approved by the State Council, the founding of the new Zhejiang University has been a significant move in the reform and development of China's higher education. The four universities have grown out of the same ancestry, the Qiushi (with the literal meaning of "seeking truth" in Chinese) Academy, which was founded a century ago as one of the earliest institutions of higher learning in China. As a result, they have all inherited from it the spirit of "Qiushi" and at the same time, built up their own distinctive features in teaching and research.