Nanjing University(南京大学:Nánjīnɡ Dàxué), one of China's key comprehensive universities under the direct supervision of the Ministry of Education, dates from 1902 when it was known as Sanjiang Normal School(三江师范学堂:Sānjiānɡ Shīfàn Xuétánɡ). During the following decades, it evolved as Liangjiang Normal School(两江师范学堂:Liǎnɡjiānɡ Shīfàn Xuétánɡ ), Nanjing Higher Normal School(南京高等师范学堂:Nánjīnɡ Gāoděnɡ Shīfàn Xuétánɡ), National Southeast University(国立东南大学:Guólì Dōnɡnán Dàxué), the Fourth Zhongshan University(第四中山大学:Dìsì Zhōnɡshān Dàxué), and National Central University(国立中央大学:Guólì Zhōnɡyānɡ Dàxué). On August 8, 1949, National Central University was renamed National Nanjing University. In October 1950, as required by the Ministry of Education, the name was changed to Nanjing University (NJU). In 1952, due to the nationwide restructuring of colleges and universities, some academic units such as the School of Engineering and the School of Agriculture were separated from the university; meanwhile, it merged with the School of Liberal Arts and the School of Sciences of the University of Nanking founded in 1888. Its name remained while its campus moved from Sipailou to Gulou.

Today’s Nanjing University consists of three beautiful campuses, Gulou ,Pukou, and Xianlin . As a top university in China, it boasts advanced teaching and research facilities. Its current President is Dr. Chen Jun, a geochemist. Each year, the University celebrates its anniversary on May 20.