Wuhan University(武汉大学:Wǔhàn Dàxué) is a key university directly under the administration of the Education Ministry of the People's Republic of China. It is located in Hubei Province's capital Wuhan known as "The thoroughfare leading to nine provinces". The university has rolling physical features with the scenic Luojia Hill(珞珈山:Luòjiāshān) in it and the beautiful East Lake by its side, seeming in picturesque disorder. Its campus is wooded and green, and has fragrant flowers everywhere all the year round, the buildings are in special architectural styles, magnificent and mansion-looking. For the above reasons, Wuhan University is widely known as one of the most beautiful universities in the world.

The university dates back to Ziqiang Institute(自强学院:Zìqiánɡ Xuéyuàn), which was founded in 1893 by Zhang Zhidong(张之洞:Zhānɡ Zhīdònɡ), governor of Hubei and Hunan Provinces in late Qing Dynasty after his memorial to the throne was approved by the Qing Government. Later, it changed its name several times before it was named National Wuhan University in July 1928. During the War of Resistance against Japan, Wuhan University moved to Leshan, Sichuan Province and returned to Luojia Hill after the victory of the war. By the end of 1946, the university had six colleges, i.e., the colleges of liberal arts, law, sciences, engineering, agriculture and medicine.

Wuhan University boasts a campus which covers an area of 5508 mu and it has a floorage of 2.42 million square metres. There are large modernized teaching buildings, laboratory buildings, gymnasiums, sports grounds, swimming pools, archive buildings, and a specimen building with more then 200,000 pieces of valuable animal and plant specimens. The university's libraries have a collection of approximately 5.2 million volumes, subscribe to more then 10,000 kinds of Chinese and foreign periodicals, are the central-China canter officially decided for the "211 Project" documents--ensuring system of the Chinese universities and colleges.