Huazhong University of Science and Technology (HUST) (华中科技大学:Huázhōnɡ Kējì Dàxué)is located in Wuhan(武汉:Wǔhàn), the capital city of Hubei Province, in the middle reaches of the Yangtze River(扬子江:Yánɡzǐjiānɡ). The campus of HUST is beautifully nestled at the foot of Yujia hill and beside the East Lake with green grass scattered all round in 500 hectares of land. It is a key comprehensive university under the direct leadership of the Ministry of Education of P. R. China. The current Minister of Education Prof Zhou Ji, who graduated from this University, is the former president of the University.

The University ranks at the top of China's leading universities in comprehensive strength. It has 36 academic schools and departments covering eleven disciplines: philosophy, economics, law, education, literature, history, agriculture, science, engineering, medicine and management. The University offers a variety of programs, including 75 undergraduate programs, 200 Master programs, 139 doctoral programs and 22 post-doctoral research centers. It has 15 national key disciplines. A number of other leading research centers are located here; 4 National Engineering Research Centers, 4 National Leading Laboratories, 2 National Specialized Laboratories. The University has more than 13, 000 faculty members, of whom over 4, 000 are full time teachers, 16 are academicians of the Chinese Academy of Sciences & the Chinese Academy of Engineering, over 900 are professors. The number of resident students is over 50, 000, of whom more than 17, 000 are graduate students.