As one of the national key universities directly under the State Ministry of Education (MOE) as well as one of the State “211 Project” universities enjoying privileged construction in the Ninth Five-Year Plan period, the present Sichuan University (SCU) (四川大学:Sìchuān Dàxué)was first incorporated with Chengdu University of Science and Technology (CUST)(成都科技大学:Chénɡdū Kējì Dàxué), another national key university under the MOE in1994, and West China University of Medical Science (WCUMS)(华西医科大学:Huáxī Yīkē Dàxué), a key university directly subordinated to the State Ministry of Health in 2000. The present Secretary of the Party committee is Prof. Yang Quan-ming, and the President currently in office is Prof. Xie He-ping (academician of the Chinese Academy of Engineering).

At present, SCU has the widest coverage of disciplines and the largest scale of operation in West China. There are 15 key disciplines at the national level, 14 “211 Project” key construction disciplines, 29 key disciplines at the provincial and ministerial level, 4 national bases for personnel training in basic disciplines and scientific research, and a teaching base for engineering courses. Besides, it has 12 first-class disciplines to grant Doctor’s degree and Master’s degree, 111 second-class disciplines to grant Doctor’s degree, 178 Master programs, 6 specialized degree programs, and 16 post-doctor stations. The 109 bachelor programs cover the major fields in liberal arts, sciences, engineering, medicine and agriculture.